Conservative Party Leadership Election

17th May 2019

The Prime Minister has announced her intention to agree with the 1922 Committee* a timetable for the election of a new leader of the Conservative & Unionist Party of Great Britain & Northern Ireland.

The Conservative Party constitution sets out the process for leadership elections. Once commenced, nominations will be received by the 1922 Committee and members of the Conservative Parliamentary Party will vote in a series of rounds until two candidates reach a final round. The candidacy of these two contenders will then be put to members of the Conservative Party across Great Britain and Northern Ireland.

As Vice Chairman (International) of the Conservative Party and an Executive Member of the 1922 Committee, Alec must remain impartial throughout this process as the Conservative Party and the 1922 Committee is committed to ensuring a fair contest for those seeking to reach the final round of a members’ ballot.

Updated: 24th May 2019

Following the Prime Minister’s statement in Downing Street on Friday 24th May, Theresa May will resign as Leader of the Conservative Party on 7th June 2019. The process to elect a new leader will commence with the close of nominations in the week commencing 10 June. Successive rounds of voting by the Conservative Parliamentary Party will then take place until a final choice of two candidates is made by the end of June, allowing time for  a series of hustings around the UK for party members and members of the public to attend. Voting will then commence and a new leader of the Conservative Party will be elected before the end of July. The Prime Minister will remain in office until her successor is elected.

*The 1922 Committee is a committee of all backbench Conservative MPs that meets weekly when the Commons is sitting. It was established in April 1923 following an initiative by new Conservative MPs elected at the 1922 General Election to facilitate cooperation within the Conservative Party.